The Road That I Must Take

“The Road That I Must Take” is my fourth full-length album, and my third of all original songs. The title comes from the fourth track, “I Believe”, from a section that reads, “now I see the road that I must take ’cause I see a difference I can make.” While the album isn’t a true concept album in that only two of the songs were written after plans for the album started taking shape, the album does have a loose theme relating to purpose and paths through life and love. This theme emerged, at least partly, due to various crossroads I had recently encountered in my own path.

Song List

(click title for lyrics)

  1. On My Way to You (R. Paul)
  2. Find My Way (R. Paul)
  3. I Didn’t Think (M.L. Sudkamp, R. Paul)
  4. I Believe (2019 Remix) (R. Paul)
  5. What Are We (R. Paul)
  6. Seasons (D. Jones, R. Paul)
  7. Wishing You Well (R. Paul)
  8. Stories (R. Paul)
  9. Undertow (2019 Remix) (M.L. Sudkamp, R. Paul)
  10. Like a Lover Would (2019 Remix) (R. Paul)
  11. You Make Life Easier (2019 Remix) (R. Paul)
  12. Sweet, Sweet Color of Love (2019 Remix) (R. Paul)


Tracks 1, 2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-12 written by Rick Paul. Tracks 3 and 9 written by Mary Lou Sudkamp and Rick Paul. Track 6 written by Derry Jones and Rick Paul.

Performed, produced, engineered, mixed, and mastered by Rick Paul.

Cover artwork and photography by Rick Paul.

Related Media

Story Behind the Album: The Road That I Must Take

Story Behind the Song: “I Believe”

Story Behind the Song: “Seasons”

Story Behind the Song: “Wishing You Well”

Story Behind the Song: “Undertow”

Story Behind the Song: “Sweet, Sweet Color of Love”

Release Date: August 2, 2019